SOPA Strike (Reblogged from Harlow Heslop)

This is a reblog form Harlow Hesloppage, and it’s important that everyone reads and understands what SOPA & PIPA is all about. We are a new generation, so let’s make sure Washington knows that we will not go away quietly, and we will not turn a blind eye to their shenanigans! Thank you Harlow for allowing me to share this information with my readers.

Dani Riaxik

 

SOPA Strike

Tomorrow, on January 18th 2012 numerous websites, including big name Wikipedia will be taking part in an Internet Blackout to protest against SOPA (Stop online Piracy Act) and PIPA (Protect IP Act).  I too will be attempting to participate in this black out.  I have a java script I will be enabling into my website’s theme page and it should “black me out” for the day.  This being said…I really encourage others to do the same if this is something they feel strongly about.

Do you know what these bills mean?  If you don’t I highly suggest you read up.  I’ll be honest when I say that these are issues that I were ignorant to till very recently when someone explained to me what they could mean.  I did my research, and now I want to make sure I’m doing my part.  I personally really love this article on techdirt.com about “Why SOPA and Protect IP are Bad, Bad Ideas.”  If you would like some  relatively unbias  and informative pages on these bills I suggest checking out wikipedia on SOPA and PIPA .  Keep in mind, in less than 9 hours from now though, Wikipedia and many other sites including my own will be “blacking out” to protest against these bills from passing.

Let me be clear.  Infringement and piracy are issues that DO need solutions, but these bills are not the right way of going about it.  To be even more clear, if these bills pass you can kiss many of your favorite and most helpful websites goodbye.  Music sites, social networking sites, and yes…even Second Life could be shut down in a near instant by the government.

So I really encourage bloggers, website owners, and the general public to read up on these bills, and take action.  Support the strike.  Join in.

Also, many are encouraging others to call their local representatives and be clear to them that if they support the passing of these bills that you will make sure to tell everyone you know NOT to vote for them.  It is so important that our representatives, politicians, and the government as a whole know that we will not agree to this.

I hope you do your part in this! I know I will be! :)

Leave a Reply

